Here’s something a friend wrote.  I felt it deserved to be posted!

I’m sure by now you’ve heard the news that judgment day is this Saturday. Yes that fateful day of May 21st is this weekend. There are billboards all over the country announcing it. Caravans of people are out spreading the word. And the media has announced it to the world. The pastor says that he has Biblical proof that Saturday is the day. You see, he got his math right this time.

So what does this all mean? (Besides the fact that this pastor is just 6 days away from becoming a false prophet). In fact he’s been a false prophet since 1994.

Now I’m sure that he doesn’t mean to be. And I’m sure that he believes that he’s right. But he missed some key points in his studies, like the entire book of Revelation. He also missed a few key points in Matthew 24, as well as countless other Scriptures that plainly tell us what will happen before the end.

Another point I would like to make is this, as far as my understanding goes, God doesn’t set exact dates for things to happen. There will be “signs of the times”, but no set dates. The Father can tarry as long as He wants, whenever He wants. He is not bound by dates and deadlines. Furthermore, people have been studying the Bible for as long as the Bible has been around. Why hasn’t anyone else come up with that date?

So why is this such a big story? It’s because of what’s going to happen on May 21st…nothing. Then on May 22nd the world can point and laugh at the ‘stupid Christians’.

I think that the media intentionally picked up on this story in order to make endtime warning Christians look like a bunch of idiots. So when the fig tree really IS ripe, people won’t take the warning seriously.

It’s a two sided attack, make Christians look stupid, and don’t take the warnings serious. It’s like a combination of crying wolf and chicken little.”No really! The sky is falling! I mean it this time!”

So many Christians are waiting for ‘the rapture’. They think that it will happen any day now. I see it on just about every endtime prophecy teaching. They always seem to overlook one key word in Matthew 13:30. “Let both grow together until the harvest: and in the time of the harvest I will say to the reapers, Gather ye together first the tares, and bind them in bundles to burn them: but gather the wheat into my barn.”

I know I’m preaching to the choir here, but it never ceases to amaze me how so many people miss that. Of course a lot of the new versions of the Bible re-word things and leave out entire verses, so I guess that I shouldn’t be too surprised. Not to mention, a lot of Christians rely on their pastor to read and interpret the Bible for them.

(J. Piraneo, 5-17-11)

