The other day, someone I know mentioned that they follow over three hundred people on Twitter!  I’m astounded!  I don’t use Twitter, so I don’t know how often people Tweet but . . . over three  hundred people!

Granted, this person isn’t a Christian . . . but from what I know about ‘Christians’ these days, they do pretty much what everyone else does.  (Could it be because many who call themselves Christians aren’t?  Hmmmm.)

I don’t know whether this number is typical, or whether it’s excessive.  But I just can’t fathom having my thoughts constantly interrupted –or steered by–that many people.  (In fact, I’m not sure there are three hundred truly wise people in the whole U.S.!)  Personally,  I can’t think of even a dozen people whose thoughts and comments I’d be interested in hearing on a regular basis.

We used to bemoan the fact that time seemed to be speeding up, and that we were becoming more and more busy . . . but the idea of receiving constant Tweets makes that seem like a minor annoyance!

The Bible warns us not to be conformed to the culture we live in.  When you factor Twitter into the equation, it gives a whole new meaning to ‘collective consciousness’.  We are coming closer and closer to everyone thinking the same thing at the same time.  (What a grand experiment in social control this could be!)

Christian, step back and look at this situation.  We become like the people we spend time with.   If you Twitter, do I have to elaborate, to spell out the dangers here?  If you are following all these people on Twitter, how do you have time to hear God?  And how do you know what your own thoughts are?  Do you even have an original thought anymore, or is it a continuation of someone else’s comment?  Don’t just laugh this question off–think about it!

If you are serious about being a disciple of Jesus, about being a new creation, about putting aside the things of this world, about having your mind renewed, and growing spiritually . . . then you need to take a long hard look at where Twitter is taking you.

We are constantly being pulled away from the things that matter.  We slip away from truth a little at a time.  Our character changes, one thought at a time.

Where are your thoughts coming from?

READ YOUR BIBLE!!

We Have Been Bewitched

For Christians Who Are Struggling Spiritually

