Putting together different things I have read, it appears that mankind is near completing 6,000 years on the Earth, from the time of Adam and Eve.  Scripture tells us that:

‘And the LORD said, My spirit shall not always strive with man, for that he also [is] flesh: yet his days shall be an hundred and twenty years.’  (Genesis 6:3)

It is possible that these ‘years’ are Jubilee years.  Every Jubilee cycle encompassed 50 years.  50 x 120 = 6,000

We also know that:

‘. . . one day [is] with the Lord as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.’  (2 Peter 3:8)

We also know that when Jesus returns, at the end of the Great Tribulation, He will begin His 1,000 year (millennial)  reign.  (See Rev. 20:4-6)

This certainly looks like a ‘week’ of  days that each equal one thousand years.  I see a clear pattern here, that is reflected in man’s seven day week.

‘Six days shall work be done: but the seventh day [is] the sabbath of rest, an holy convocation; ye shall do no work [therein]: it [is] the sabbath of the LORD in all your dwellings.’  (Leviticus 23:3)

It seems to me that the weekly Sabbath is a foreshadowing . . . a prophetic picture . . . of God’s week in relation to man.  When Jesus returns, the Earth’s seventh day Sabbath will begin.

 

Isaiah 66:15-24 tells of the time at the end of the Tribulation and the beginning of Christ’s millennial reign:

For, behold, the LORD will come with fire, and with his chariots like a whirlwind, to render his anger with fury, and his rebuke with flames of fire.  For by fire and by his sword will the LORD plead with all flesh: and the slain of the LORD shall be many.  They that sanctify themselves, and purify themselves in the gardens behind one [tree] in the midst, eating swine’s flesh, and the abomination, and the mouse, shall be consumed together, saith the LORD.  For I [know] their works and their thoughts: it shall come, that I will gather all nations and tongues; and they shall come, and see my glory. [see Rev. 16:16, 19:11-21]

 

And I will set a sign among them, and I will send those that escape of them unto the nations, [to] Tarshish, Pul, and Lud, that draw the bow, [to] Tubal, and Javan, [to] the isles afar off, that have not heard my fame, neither have seen my glory; and they shall declare my glory among the Gentiles.  [see Matt. 24:14]

 

And they shall bring all your brethren [for] an offering unto the LORD out of all nations upon horses, and in chariots, and in litters, and upon mules, and upon swift beasts, to my holy mountain Jerusalem, saith the LORD, as the children of Israel bring an offering in a clean vessel into the house of the LORD.  [see Jer. 30:1-10, 46:27-28]

 

And I will also take of them for priests [and] for Levites, saith the LORD.  [see Rev. 20:4-6]

 

For as the new heavens and the new earth, which I will make, shall remain before me, saith the LORD, so shall your seed and your name remain.  And it shall come to pass, [that] from one new moon to another, and from one sabbath to another, shall all flesh come to worship before me, saith the LORD.  [see Rev. 21:1-8, 22:1-21]

 

And they shall go forth, and look upon the carcases of the men that have transgressed against me: for their worm shall not die, neither shall their fire be quenched; and they shall be an abhorring unto all flesh.’  [see Isaiah 34:9-10, Rev. 14:9-11, 19:20, 20:10-15]

Throughout the entire seven thousand years of this age, mankind will keep the Sabbath, as a day to worship the Lord.

