I’ll admit, as the Lord revealed to me that His name is Jehovah, there was ONE verse that stumbled me.  So I sought the Lord in prayer, for understanding.  This is what He revealed to me.

(First, we must remember that although the KJV translates YHVH (Yehovah) as sometimes Jehovah, and other times LORD or GOD, if we were reading the Hebrew text, it would say Yehovah (Jehovah) in ALL of these places.  When a person, or angel, or God Himself said ‘Jehovah, GOD, or LORD’, the Hebrew listener would have heard ‘Yehovah’.  In order to remind us of that, I’m going to insert the Hebrew name in parentheses after the translated name, in the verses that follow).

Here is the problem verse:

‘And I appeared unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob, by [the name of] God Almighty (El Shaddai), but by my name JEHOVAH was I not known to them.’  (Exodus 6:3)

Because it appears to contradict by this verse:

‘And Abraham called the name of that place Jehovahjireh: as it is said [to] this day, In the mount of the LORD (Yehovah) it shall be seen.’  (Genesis 22:14)

How could Abraham have named a place after Jehovah/God if he did not know His name was Jehovah (Yehovah)?  This type of ‘knowing’ must not be what was meant.  Is there another type of knowing?  Yes.  There is a knowing by revelation . . . by EXPERIENCE.

God uses many variations of His name to express different aspects of His character.  All of these names are fulfilled in the relationship of Jesus Christ to man.  They foreshadowed and pointed the way to what Jesus Christ would do.  We do not know EXACTLY what the meaning of ‘Jehovah’ is.  But the Bible gives us a few clues:

  • The Hebrew Word ‘hovah’ HVH means: ruin, disaster.

The name Je hovah (Ye hovah) ends with this.  But what could the Je/Ye part of His name mean?  I believe the answer is to be found in the very same passage as the verse that stumbled me . . .

‘And I appeared unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob, by [the name of] God Almighty (El Shaddai), but by my name JEHOVAH was I not known to them . . .

. . . And I have also heard the groaning of the children of Israel, whom the Egyptians keep in bondage; and I have remembered my covenant.

Wherefore say unto the children of Israel, I [am] the LORD (Yehovah), and I will BRING YOU OUT from under the burdens of the Egyptians, and I will RID YOU OUT OF their BONDAGE, and I will REDEEM you with a stretched out arm, and with great judgments:

And I will take you to me for a people, and I will be to you a God: and ye shall know that I [am] the LORD (Yehovah) your God (Elohiym), which BRINGETH YOU OUT from under the burdens of the Egyptians.’  (Ex 6:3-7)

So, here we have it:

I am Jehovah . . . I will bring you out . . . rid you of bondage . . . and redeem you.  I am Jehovah which brings you out of bondage.

This is how God defines His name.  Bring out of, rid of, redeem from . . .what word encompasses all these definitions?  Deliver.

I am Jehovah . . . I will deliver you . . . deliver you . . . and deliver you.  I am Jehovah which delivers you.

And indeed, this ties back to the verse that was apparently a contradiction:

‘And Abraham called the name of that place Jehovahjireh: as it is said [to] this day, In the mount of the LORD (Yehovah) it shall be seen.’  (Genesis 22:14)

What happened there that caused Abraham to build an altar called Jehovahjireh?

‘And they came to the place which God (Elohiym) had told him of; and Abraham built an altar there, and laid the wood in order, and bound Isaac his son, and laid him on the altar upon the wood. And Abraham stretched forth his hand, and took the knife to slay his son.

And the angel of the LORD (Yehovah) called unto him out of heaven, and said, Abraham, Abraham: and he said, Here [am] I. And he said, Lay not thine hand upon the lad, neither do thou any thing unto him: for now I know that thou fearest God (Elohiym), seeing thou hast not withheld thy son, thine only [son] from me.

And Abraham lifted up his eyes, and looked, and behold behind [him] a ram caught in a thicket by his horns: and Abraham went and took the ram, and offered him up for a burnt offering in the stead of his son. And Abraham called the name of that place Jehovahjireh: as it is said [to] this day, In the mount of the LORD (Yehovah) it shall be seen.’  (Gen. 22:9-14)

Jehovahjireh . . . In the mount of the Lord, IT SHALL BE SEEN.  Je (deliverance from) hovah (ruin) shall be seen.

And this passage is a perfect illustration and confirmation of how God delivers!  Here on mount Moriah He delivered Isaac from ruin and destruction, while providing a foreshadowing of how Jesus would deliver US from ETERNAL ruin and destruction.  Some even say that Mount Moriah was the same mount where Jesus was crucified.  If this is true, it provides another motive for obscuring the name of God: to remove any connection between deliverance and the crucifixion of Jesus Christ.

Back to the original verse and its meaning:

‘And I appeared unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob, by [the name of] God Almighty (El Shaddai), but by my name JEHOVAH was I not known to them.’  (Exodus 6:3)

Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob knew (EXPERIENCED) God as ‘El Shaddai’ (which the concordance defines as: Almighty; most powerful).  But they had not known Him as their deliverer.  This verse was spoken to Moses just before He delivered them from Egypt.  They would now know (EXPERIENCE) firsthand, His deliverance.

‘For I would not, brethren, that ye should be ignorant of this mystery, lest ye should be wise in your own conceits; that blindness in part is happened to Israel, until the fulness of the Gentiles be come in.  And so all Israel shall be saved: as it is written, There shall come out of Sion the Deliverer, and shall turn away ungodliness from Jacob:  For this [is] my covenant unto them, when I shall take away their sins.’  (Romans 11:25-27)

 

Please note: this author does NOT in any way acknowledge, support, or condone the Jehovah’s Witnesses.

