The Tribulation is NOT what Hal Lindsey or the ‘Left Behind’ books would have you believe.  The Tribulation is NOT the Seven Seals and the Seven Trumpets–although those things will be happening at the same time.  Instead, The Tribulation is the time spoken of by the prophet Daniel.

 

‘I beheld, and the same horn made war with the saints, and prevailed against them; Until the Ancient of days came, and judgment was given to the saints of the most High; and the time came that the saints possessed the kingdom.’  (Dan. 7:21-22)

 

and by John the Revelator:

 

‘And it was given unto him to make war with the saints, and to overcome them: and power was given him over all kindreds, and tongues, and nations.’  (Rev. 13:7)

 

The words ‘tribulation’ is also translated ‘persecution’.

 

Here are two passages relating to the same events.  Both say ‘persecution’ in the KJV–but one of the passages uses the same Greek word [G2347]  that is translated as ‘tribulation’ in Matt. 24.

 

‘Now they which were scattered abroad upon the persecution [G2347] that arose about Stephen travelled as far as Phenice, and Cyprus, and Antioch, preaching the word to none but unto the Jews only.’  (Acts 11:19)

 

‘And Saul was consenting unto his death. And at that time there was a great persecution [G1375] against the church which was at Jerusalem; and they were all scattered abroad throughout the regions of Judaea and Samaria, except the apostles.’  (Acts 8:1)

 

Two different Greek words (G1375 and G2347)  are used to describe the same event, that we would call a ‘persecution’.  But one of the words (G2347) is also translated ‘tribulation’ in other places (primarily Matt. 24).

 

Now that we have confirmed that G2347 (thlipsis) means both ‘tribulation’ AND ‘persecution’, where else is the word used?

 

‘Then shall they deliver you up to be afflicted [G2347], and shall kill you: and ye shall be hated of all nations for my name’s sake.’  (Matt. 24:9)

 

Then they shall deliver you up to be PERSECUTED, and shall kill you: and ye shall be hated of all nations for my name’s sake.  Then they shall deliver you up to TRIBULATION, and shall kill you: and ye shall be hated of all nations for my name’s sake.

 

‘For then shall be great tribulation [G2347], such as was not since the beginning of the world to this time, no, nor ever shall be.’  (Matt. 24:21)

 

For then shall be great PERSECUTION, such as was not since the beginning of the world to this time, no, nor ever shall be.

 

‘Immediately after the tribulation G2347 of those days shall the sun be darkened, and the moon shall not give her light, and the stars shall fall from heaven, and the powers of the heavens shall be shaken:’  (Matt. 24:29)

 

Immediately after the PERSECUTION of those days shall the sun be darkened, and the moon shall not give her light, and the stars shall fall from heaven, and the powers of the heavens shall be shaken:

 

The Tribulation / Persecution is NOT God’s judgment.  THAT comes AFTER The Tribulation / Persecution.

 

‘And I saw heaven opened, and behold a white horse; and he that sat upon him was called Faithful and True, and in righteousness he doth JUDGE AND MAKE WAR.  And he was clothed with a vesture dipped in blood: and his name is called The Word of God.’  (Rev. 19:11, 13)

 

‘Wherefore art thou red in thine apparel, and thy garments like him that treadeth in the winefat?  I have trodden the winepress alone; and of the people there was none with me: for I will tread them in mine anger, and trample them in my fury; and their blood shall be sprinkled upon my garments, and I will stain all my raiment. For the DAY OF VENGEANCE is in mine heart, and the year of my redeemed is come. . . . And I will tread down the people in mine anger, and make them drunk in my fury, and I will bring down their strength to the earth.’ (Is. 63:2-4, 6)

 

‘For true and righteous are his judgments: for he hath judged the great whore, which did corrupt the earth with her fornication, and hath AVENGED THE BLOOD OF HIS SERVANTS at her hand.’  (Rev. 19:2)

 

When the last martyr has died, the Lord will come and avenge the blood of all his servants, at the hands of the wicked.  That is ‘The Day of The Lord’.  It comes at the END of ‘The Tribulation’, which is the time of worldwide persecution of Christians and Jews.

 

‘And when he had opened the fifth seal, I saw under the altar the souls of them that were slain for the word of God, and for the testimony which they held:

 

And they cried with a loud voice, saying, How long, O Lord, holy and true, dost thou not judge and avenge our blood on them that dwell on the earth?

 

And white robes were given unto every one of them; and it was said unto them, that they should rest yet for a little season, until their fellowservants also and their brethren, that should be killed as they were, should be fulfilled.’  (Rev. 6:9-11)

 

‘The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me; because the LORD hath anointed me to preach good tidings unto the meek; he hath sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to them that are bound; To proclaim the acceptable year of the LORD, and the DAY OF VENGEANCE of our God; to comfort all that mourn;’  (Is. 61:1-2)

 

‘For I lift up my hand to heaven, and say, I live for ever. If I whet my glittering sword, and mine hand take hold on judgment; I will render vengeance to mine enemies, and will reward them that hate me. I will make mine arrows drunk with blood, and my sword shall devour flesh; and that with the blood of the slain and of the captives, from the beginning of revenges upon the enemy. Rejoice, O ye nations, with his people: for HE WILL AVENGE THE BLOOD OF  HIS SERVANTS, and will render vengeance to his adversaries, and will be merciful unto his land, and to his people.’  (Deut. 32:40-43)

 

We need to understand that persecution is coming, and we are not going to be ‘Raptured before it comes.  Those who are not prepared to face persecution . . . according to Jesus . . . will fall away.  He warned His disciples ahead of time, so that they would not be offended.  I hope this note will  help to  prepare you, so that persecution will not catch YOU unawares and cause YOU to fall away.

 

‘But he that received the seed into stony places, the same is he that heareth the word, and anon with joy receiveth it; Yet hath he not root in himself, but dureth for a while: for when tribulation or persecution ariseth because of the word, by and by he is offended.’  (Matt. 13:20-21)

 

‘Then shall they deliver you up to be afflicted, and shall kill you: and ye shall be hated of all nations for my name’s sake. And then shall many be offended, and shall betray one another, and shall hate one another.’  (Matt. 24:9-10)

 

‘Remember the word that I said unto you, The servant is not greater than his lord. If they have persecuted me, they will also persecute you; if they have kept my saying, they will keep yours also. But all these things will they do unto you for my name’s sake, because they know not him that sent me. . .

These things have I spoken unto you, that ye should not be offended.

 

They shall put you out of the synagogues: yea, the time cometh, that whosoever killeth you will think that he doeth God service.  And these things will they do unto you, because they have not known the Father, nor me. But these things have I told you, that when the time shall come, ye may remember that I told you of them. . .’  (John 15:20-21, 16:1-4)

