I think deathbed conversions are a crock.  I doubt the sincerity of someone who waits until their dying breath to call out to God for a pardon because suddenly they can see what lies ahead.  I think it’s an insult to God and an abuse of His grace.

My attitude reminds me of someone else’s:  a guy who had a brother that insisted on having his inheritance early, and then ran off and blew it partying and whoring around.  He was understandably irritated when, after hitting rock bottom,  his brother decided it was time to come home.  After all, he’d stayed home and had to pick up the slack.

But, as I look at the father of these guys, I see a man who is running down the driveway to meet his son.  He welcomes him back and showers him with gifts.  It’s not that he loves one of his sons more than the other–it’s that this one was lost, but has come home.

So, if that’s the way God feels (and I know it is, because Jesus told the story), then I’m just going to let it go.  If God isn’t offended, then why should I be?

However, If you’re that one who’s lost, and you are planning to wait until you are on your deathbed to make that commitment, consider this: sin will harden your heart.  Every time you feel the Holy Spirit tugging at your heart and you pull away, your heart gets a little harder.  By the time you are on your deathbed (if you even get that chance), you may not be able to muster the repentance you need in order to be forgiven.

Beyond that, the stakes are even higher now!  God is sending a powerful delusion to those that refuse ‘to love the truth and so be saved’.  He sends them this powerful delusion so that they will believe the lie of the Antichrist and be condemned (those who have not believed the truth but have delighted in wickedness).

The time for taking God’s grace for granted is nearly over.  Who knows. . . this may be YOUR last chance!

The Gates Of Hell Shall Not Prevail Against Us

It’s Time To ‘Shake The Dust Off’